When it comes to insurance laws, most states fall into two categories. “Fault states” and “no-fault states.” Some states are a mix of the two and the citizens choose one of the two systems. However, Texas is with the majority of the States in the U.S is a “fault state.”
What Exactly does Living in a Fault State Mean?
If you happen to live in one of the 38 at-fault states, it simply means that in something like a car crash, one or more party is responsible for the damages. While the name sounds accusatory, it has much less to do with the actual drivers in a given case. This, for the most part, has to do with the insurance companies. Payment for damages is normally made through insurance agencies. In each state, there is a mandated minimum coverage amount that a driver needs to have. Damages that are normally covered by this are things such as medical bills, property damage, and even lost wages.
In Texas, the minimum liability limit is known as 30/60/25 converge. Broken down this means at least $30,000 for each person injured is covered. Up to $60,000 per accident and at least $25,000 for property damage is covered per accident. Most at-fault states have similar categories that must be covered, at different amounts.
However, this is just the bare minimum. In some cases, an accident might result in damages the exceed the minimum amount required. If this is the case, the victim might be able to sue that at-fault party to make up the difference. But it is possible that the at-fault driver has more than the minimum amount covered under their policy. It’s best to discuss what your possible options are with an attorney.
In a Serious Car Crash? Contact The Law Giant for Help
Any car crash can leave you feeling overwhelmed and unsure of what to do next. After receiving medical attention, contact Begum Law Group Injury Lawyers right away. We can handle the legalities of your case while you focus on recovering. With our skilled legal representation by your side, you may be able to secure full and fair compensation for your damages. Contact us at (866) 523-4167 to schedule a free case evaluation.