What If I Have a Wreck With Someone Who Doesn’t Have Insurance?
If you had a wreck with someone who doesn’t have insurance, you may be wondering how to cover your losses. You have multiple options, from making a claim with your own insurance company to suing the person who was at fault.
Let The Law Giant handle the legal details while you focus on getting well and returning to your life. Call Begum Law Group Injury Lawyers today at (866) 523-4167 or use our online contact form to reach out.
How to Know If Someone Doesn’t Have Car Insurance
When you have a wreck, you should exchange insurance information with everyone involved. If the other driver refuses to give you their insurance company and policy number, they may be hiding something. They may be uninsured.
You should always call the police when you have a car accident. The police will ask everyone involved in the crash to show proof of insurance. If the other driver does not have insurance, then the police will record that in their report. They will also collect information like phone number and address for the other driver so we can contact them at a later date.
The police officer will likely issue the uninsured driver a ticket. Texas law requires all drivers to have a minimum of 30/60/25 insurance. That means they have insurance to cover at least $30,000 in bodily injuries per person, up to $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. If the at-fault driver doesn’t have this insurance, the officer will give them a ticket and they will have to pay a fine or go to court.
Can I Make an Insurance Claim If the At-Fault Driver Didn’t Have Insurance?
You may still be able to make an insurance claim on your own policy if you have a wreck with an uninsured driver. If you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM), then it will cover you if you’re hit by someone who didn’t have insurance or didn’t have enough to pay your medical and car repair bills. It will also cover a hit-and-run accident.
Insurance companies in Texas are required to offer you UM/UIM coverage, but you are not required to take it. You must tell the company in writing if you don’t want uninsured motorist coverage.
If you have to file a claim under your own insurance company, you should still work with an attorney. You may think your own insurance company has your best interests in mind, but their goal is still to pay out as little as possible. Insurance companies make money by collecting premiums and paying out less, so they don’t want to pay out money to anyone.
Can I Sue the At-Fault Driver?
If the at-fault driver was uninsured, you may consider suing them to get money to cover your losses. However, very few drivers who don’t have insurance have significant resources to pay for personal injury damages.
It’s important to work with an attorney who can investigate the person who hit you and determine if they have the money to cover your medical bills, lost wages, and other losses. If they do have funds in savings, retirement, or another source, we can sue them to get the compensation you deserve.
Contact Begum Law Group Injury Lawyers to Handle Your Uninsured Driver Wreck
Car accidents can be complex as it is, let alone if the at-fault driver is uninsured. Don’t deal with the situation alone. Call The Law Giant for legal advice at (866) 523-4167 or use our online contact form.