Call Now 210.921.2200

Car accidents can cause overwhelming stress and uncertainty. But the Law Giant is here to help. At The Law Giant, Personal Injury & Accident Lawyers, our San Antonio car accident lawyers have decades of experience representing car accident victims. Let us explain what to do and how to handle a San Antonio car crash.

Seek Medical Attention

Your priority after a crash should be your well-being and that of your passengers. If you’re able, call 911 for injuries requiring immediate attention. You might also visit an urgent care center later if your injuries aren’t apparent.

Always follow up with your physician after an accident, even if you feel fine. You may not realize you’re hurt immediately, but proof of a doctor’s visit can be instrumental in your injury claim later.

Some of our recent results...

$8.5
Million
Commercial Vehicle Crash
$7.0
Million
18-Wheeler Crash
$7.5
Million
18-Wheeler Crash

*The outcome of any individual case depends on factors unique to that case. Past case results listed on this website do not guarantee or predict a similar result in any similar or future case.

Alex Begum - Super Lawyers badge Lead Counsel logo American Association for Justice logo National Trial Lawyers Award Trial Lawyers Association logo San Antonio Trial Lawyers Association logo ABA logo Attorney and Practice Magazine top 10 logo Cameron County Bar logo Best Attorneys of America logo

Gather Evidence at the Scene

Another important step after a car accident is documenting the scene. Any evidence you can gather supporting the other driver’s negligence can help your claim.

After a car accident, you should:

  • Take photos and videos of the vehicles involved, damages, skid marks on the road, etc.
  • Exchange insurance info and the contacts of any involved drivers.
  • Talk to witnesses and passers-by and get their contact information.
  • Take note of nearby businesses or intersections with video cameras that may have recorded the accident

Get as much information as possible since evidence can easily be lost and memories fade. Having your record of what happened will help.

Report the Accident to the Police

Texas law requires drivers to report accidents if they result in injury, death, or damage to a vehicle preventing it from being driven safely.

Call 911 and wait for assistance after an accident. The responding officer will file a report, which can be one of the most helpful supporting evidence in your injury claim. You can request a copy of your crash report online from the Texas Department of Transportation.

If no authorities respond to your accident, and someone is hurt, or property damage of $1,000+ has occurred, you must file crash report CR-2 within 10 days. Instructions for filing a CR-2 form can be found here.

What our clients have to say...

5.0 Google Reviews. Out of Almost 400 Reviews.

“Great group of people to work with—very efficient and professional. Alex has put together a great Team!
- Derek B.
"Great service with employees … patient and explain everything in a way that is understandable to the people."
- Marlend Z.
“I love the attitude they have … always happy to help out and makes you feel comfortable.”
- Laura T.
“Great law firm. Staff very professional … very helpful and took the time to answer all my questions.”
- Lucy G.

Consult a San Antonio Car Accident Lawyer ASAP

You may hear from the other driver’s insurance company or be presented with documents to sign soon after a car accident. However, you shouldn’t sign anything or reveal any information to the other driver’s insurance before discussing your situation with an attorney.

The sooner you enlist an attorney, the sooner they can maximize your chances of recovering all the compensation you need.

File an Insurance Claim with an Attorney’s Help

After consulting your lawyer, you can start filing a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. You may be eligible to recover various types of damages, which are divided into two categories:

  • Economic damages – current and future medical expenses, car repairs, property damages, and lost wages.
  • Noneconomic damages for pain and suffering or loss of enjoyment of life.

Your attorney will work with you to calculate the total value of your losses.

Texas Car Insurance Requirements

All drivers in Texas must carry the following liability coverages:

  • A minimum of $30,000 for injuries per person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident
  • At least $25,000 for property damage

The other driver’s insurance may try to pin the blame on you to reduce their payout or claim your injuries aren’t as severe as you say.

If your damages after a car accident exceed the other driver’s insurance limits, it may be necessary to file a lawsuit.

Determine Who’s Liable for Your San Antonio Car Accident Case

Texas is an at-fault state and follows the rule of modified comparative negligence, also known as proportionate responsibility.

This means the at-fault driver and their insurance are responsible for your damages. But the damages awarded can be reduced if you are also partially to blame.

For example, if you’re found 20% at fault for the accident for some reason, such as speeding or distracted driving, the damages awarded to you would also be reduced by 20%.

Your attorney will help you navigate the claims process, such as filing documents, medical records, and settlement negotiations.

Pursue Litigation if Necessary

Many car accident cases settle. But if you cannot reach a fair settlement or your losses go beyond the other driver’s insurance, a car accident lawsuit may be the best option to recover compensation.

Litigation after a car wreck can get complicated. It requires knowledge of relevant statutes, case law, and court procedures. And any mistakes can jeopardize your case. Hiring an attorney with comprehensive knowledge of Texas personal injury law and experience litigating car accident cases is crucial.