Do I need Personal Injury Protection Insurance?
Insurance companies offer a whole bunch of different insurance coverage options when it comes to auto insurance. Most people are familiar with things like liability and collision insurance but are unaware of personal Injury protection insurance. Personal injury protection insurance or PIP provides extended coverage for medical expenses and other expenses. Its what’s known as “no-fault” insurance because it is paid out regardless of whos at fault for the accident.
It’s advisable to have PIP as part of your auto policy, in fact, many insurers add it to your plan automatically. However, in Texas, it’s optional to have PIP as part of your policy. If you don’t want it, often all you have to do is submit a written statement to your insurance company. From there, they’ll remove the option from your plan. This wouldn’t be the best decision though. PIP can greatly decrease the number of accident claims you have. This is because this coverage pays out, even in cases where fault is disputed.
In Texas, you’re only required to carry liability insurance. But just because you can, doesn’t mean you should. It’s best to be as protected as possible. The minimum amount a Texas driver must carry is known as the 30/60/25. $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Having more than what’s required can help protect you if you happen to be at fault for an accident.
Wondering the Worth of Your Personal Injury Case?
After a personal injury accident, your top priority should be recovering. Not trying to figure out which damages you may be eligible for and determining the value of your claim on your own. Consult a Texas personal injury lawyer from Begum Law Group Injury Lawyers.
To find out how much your personal injury claim is worth, contact The Law Giant right away. You can count on us to investigate your situation and ensure you secure the fair compensation you deserve. To schedule a free, initial evaluation of your case, contact us today at (866) 523-4167.