According to the National Highway Traffic Saftey Board, 444 people were killed in Texas due to distracted driving in 2017. With more apps and programs are fighting for our attention, using our smartphones while driving is becoming more and more common. But what are the laws concerning texting and driving?
Texting in driving laws varies from state to state. Some states still do not have any laws banning the practices, and others only ban cell phone use while in a school zone. In Texas, it was made illegal in 2017. In addition to putting a prohibition on texting and driving, other forms of electronic communication are also banned, such as using social media. While you’re allowed to play music, use a GPS and talk on the phone state-wide, some local governments have stricter city ordinances. That’s why it’s important for Texans to not only know the state law but their local laws too.
In Texas, first-time violators of the law will be fined between $25 to $99. However, those with repeat violations may be subjected to higher fines. If a person texting is responsible for a serious accident, they may face jail time and fines adding up too $4,000. What’s the best way to avoid these fines? Stay safe and stay off your phone while driving. Texting and driving is not only dangerous for you, but for everyone else on the road.
Wondering the Worth of Your Personal Injury Case?
After a personal injury accident, your top priority should be recovering. Not trying to figure out which damages you may be eligible for and determining the value of your claim on your own. Consult a Texas personal injury lawyer from Begum Law Group Injury Lawyers.
To find out how much your personal injury claim is worth, contact The Law Giant right away. You can count on us to investigate your situation and ensure you secure the fair compensation you deserve. To schedule a free, initial evaluation of your case, contact us today at (866) 523-4167.